portagelife logo laportecountylife logo nwindianalife logo Share good news

Hummel Named A Finalist For Oscar Robertson Trophy

Renowned as one of college basketball’s most versatile talents, Purdue junior forward Robbie Hummel was named one of 16 finalists for the 2010 Oscar Robertson Trophy on Tuesday in an announcement by the U.S. Basketball Writers Association. The nation’s oldest award, and the only named after a former player, the Oscar Robertson Trophy is awarded to the USBWA’s national player of the year. The presentation of this year’s award will take place on April 2 in Indianapolis in conjunction with the NCAA Men’s Final Four. Robbie Hummel Named a Finalist for Oscar Robertson Trophy

The Boilermakers’ top rebounder and second-leading scorer, Hummel has been an integral component of a Purdue team that has posted its fourth-straight 20-win season, defeated three teams ranked in the top 10 of the Associated Press poll and picked up five wins over teams ranked in the top 25 of the official NCAA RPI.

The Valparaiso, Ind., native is averaging 16.1 points, 7.1 rebounds, 2.3 assists and a career-best 1.1 blocks per contest on the year, becoming the 44th player in program history to break the 1,000-career point barrier and just the 19th to accrue 1,000 points and 500 rebounds.

He has led Purdue in rebounds 12 times and points on seven occasions, recorded five double-doubles and turned in a streak of 20-straight double-figure scoring performances.

Hummel has also led the Big Ten and ranked among the national leaders in free throw percentage for the majority of the season, making a program-record 36 in a row at one point.

An all-conference selection in both of his collegiate seasons, Hummel was also named to both the preseason and midseason watch lists for the John R. Wooden Award, as well as the preseason watch list for the Naismith Trophy.

2010 Oscar Robertson Trophy Finalists

Cole Aldrich, Jr., Kansas
James Anderson, Jr., Oklahoma State
Sherron Collins, Sr., Kansas
DeMarcus Cousins, Fr., Kentucky
Devan Downey, Sr., South Carolina
Jimmer Fredette, Jr., BYU
Luke Harangody, Sr., Notre Dame
Robbie Hummel, Jr., Purdue

Damion James, Sr., Texas
Wesley Johnson, Jr., Syracuse
Dominique Jones, Jr., South Florida
Greg Monroe, So., Georgetown
Scottie Reynolds, Sr., Villanova
Jon Scheyer, Sr., Duke
Evan Turner, Jr., Ohio State
John Wall, Fr., Kentucky

Copyright © 2019 Ideas in Motion Media